Salix's Shiny Things

A magpie blog.

The transcendence of the ordinary. October 14, 2014

Filed under: Buddhism — LP @ 9:49 am
Tags: , ,

A quote from an article I read this morning:

“In our ordinary struggles with life and our interminable retreat into the compulsiveness of ordinary being, if we can look honestly, we may experience our religious sense as fully as in many high-flown writings. Looking deeply at our foolishness, we discover truth.”

http://www.tricycle.com/brief-teachings/discovering-truth

Since I’ve started dating, I find myself being struck constantly with the transcendence of ordinary things.  Like the sound of him brushing his teeth while I lay on his bed.  It wasn’t as if I hadn’t experienced that set of circumstances before, but for whatever reason, this time, the simple ordinariness of it seemed utterly transcendent.  I was fully aware of the sounds, the buzz of the electric brush, wavering in tone as it was worked over the various contours, the spaces and corners of his teeth and cheeks.  Fully aware of the weight of my body on the bed, and the softness of the covers.  But beyond these local matters, I was also fully aware of the presence of this moment in time, and how this one moment was a part of all moments, like a droplet of water is part of the whole sea.

And I find myself very glad to be here, living in the world.

 

Leave a Reply

